Ban Tractors from the Roads

We’ve all been in that situation: you’re in a rush, the sun is beating down on you, and you’re stuck behind a tractor doing 20mph for the last two miles down a narrow country road. You feel like screaming “F**king langer, would you every get off the bloody road, you fool!”. Even I know what that’s like.

I’m not here to make excuses for poor driving by farmers. I positively frown upon those bad drivers because it gives all us farmers a bad name, and it makes life more hazardous for the rest of us using the public roads.

I’m lucky in that I rarely have to venture out onto the road with the tractor because the farm is all on one block, so there isn’t much need to unless I have lots of heavy items to bring up from town. When I do venture out, I’m very wary of what’s around me at all times, doing all the things that a normal motorist would do, and I’ll always leave cars out when it’s SAFE.

But I have to say that some motorists attitude towards tractors on the road leaves a lot to be desired. My own bad experience happened a few years ago: a red car came up behind me as I was going up our hill and without thinking of stopping just passed me out in the middle of an S-bend. Totally blind and with two young children in the back. If something had come down against us (and they come down there about 50mph), she had nowhere to go, as there is a high ditch on the other side. She was lucky. I nearly dropped dead with the fright.

This came to mind this evening when I read the following headline: Data also show that collisions with farm vehicles are five times more likely to result in a fatality than any other type of motor vehicle accident

on Physorg.com again ( here)

There’s more important things out there than trying to kill yourself for the sake of a couple of seconds. So give us a break, and if you’re stuck behind a bad driver, then take his number and report him to the guards. that is if you can read his number plate in the first case. It’s more than plastered in muck!

1 comment so far

  1. laurie on

    i used to like getting stuck behind a tractor or a big hay wagon. made me slow down, look around, take it easy.


Leave a Reply

