On Recovering … at last!

A hot lemon drink to soothe the throat

A few days ago I wrote that I wasn’t feeling the best! Now I get sick fairly rarely … so when I picked up the flu that has been going around in the last few days, I got a good dose of it. I can’t remember when I last spent three days in bed.
I’m okay now, but I’m still far from perfect, but I’m able to get around and do the daily farm work … but just the basics at the moment. I can’t do anything strenuous or I’ll relapse again for the second time. Thankfully my dad was okay and was able to manage the place while was bedridden.

I tried to stay away from people. I didn’t want to infect anyone … but of course my dad has it now and he’s just spent his third day in bed. He must bored stiff… and cursing me at the same time.

Ahhhhh, all this self-pity. If I just got up off my ass and forgot about it, all would be okay.

While I was tucked away for those few days, I started reading The Life of Pi on recommendation from friend. Well I started two months ago, but left the book on a plane after me (yes, i’m an airhead), so I’m now reading the copy I purchased to replace the old one. Reading is something I used to do a lot of when I was young, but somehow along the way, I seem to have lost the time and patience to just enjoy a good read. Nowadays I just tend to read more serious stuff like papers, journals, magazines and blogs. Factual things … but this fiction is a break into another world for me. It is a nice change. Something I would like to do a little more of.

2 comments so far

  1. laurie on

    this is a funny coincidence. if you look at my blog, i list in the sidebar the books i’m reading. “life of pi” is one of them.

  2. CowDungHands on

    Aye, it is a funny coincidence alright… or great minds think alike. But then again you’re two thirds the way through Ulyses, which I couldn’t even contemplate reading to be honest.


Leave a Reply

