My Aching Body

It had been waiting to go back playing indoor soccer since last April. I finally gave up playing with the young lads because of a number of factors.

  • The young lads were getting faster and faster every year … so I found myself resorting to dirty tactics to stop them from running straight past me.
  • A case of sciatica from ten years ago that has not gone away properly … so it raises its ugly head every now and again
  • A left knee that has begun clicking and just doesn’t feel right any more
  • A groin injury from last April, that refuses to clear up properly (though I’m pretty sure that it’s got to do with my back also.
  • Advice from a friend of mine that says that the injuries you get when you’re over thirty are the ones that never go away properly, and you just have to live with them as best you can.
  • I’ve got other things to do with my time. My weekends have been dedicated to sport for the last 15 years, and I need to do the things that I want to do, like visit friends, give more time to my girlfriend, and just enjoy life a little more without stressing myself too much.
  • And, after all this time playing, I felt that I needed to give something back … so I now train the under 13’s twice a week, and that’s commitment enough.

So there I was last night, all togged out and ready to go. I was feeling good in myself so I expected a good session. Fifteen minutes later, I was breathless and though I was going to cough up my lungs, and also had an unmerciful stitch in my side. (Of course I had the flu for the last few weeks, so it was to be expected) I carried on until the hour was nearly over whereon someone thankfully kicked the ball high up, where it duly got stuck in a heater just under the ceiling. Hurray!! Our session was cut short by ten minutes.

This morning, I am not too bad actually. Just some sore and tight muscles, hut nothing that was not expected, so I am grateful of that.

But, I am left wondering how I could feel so unfit now after all the time I have been playing sport (Soccer, Hurling, Gaelic Football and Judo, with lots of hill walking and running thrown into the mix) . But I suppose it only takes a few months for the body to wind down … and develop the beginnings of a pouch where any prospective six pack should be placed. (Nobody will be seeing them for a long time to come!!!). So I’ll have to buck up, start training properly again, eat less and better food, and generally do good things for the winter. Oh, I can feel the pain of all I need to do. Now where did I put those chocolate biscuits?????

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

