We can’t run on Empty

Passing behind a visiting car in front of our home, I saw this back window sticker looking up at me. I’m fortunate that I’ve never had to receive blood in my past, and hopefully never into the future either. Even more fortunate that my blood is good enough, and clean enough to be able to give to others. So, three to four times every year, the Irish Blood Transfusion Service lorries roll into town, and I happily donate to them a pint of my blood. It’s just one of the small things that I can do for others, and if it saves even one life… . I would encourage everyone that can afford to give their blood to do so, but it’s a matter of free choice.

Anyway, I liked the way my silhouette came out in the photo, sort of representing the unknown recipients … and the people that don’t know they are going to be recipients.

3 comments so far

  1. laurie on

    excellent post, rough hands. my sister had dozens of transfusions during her seven years with cancer. i can’t give blood because i am consistently slightly anemic, but i sure appreciate people who do.

  2. rough hands on

    My iron levels are normally very good, but the last time around they were down, and just over the acceptable limit. It was strange for me, but maybe I need to eat more meat 🙂
    I couldn’t donate there a few years ago because I had an endoscopy on my stomach and they said six months. It was annoying to say the least. They would not say why, even though I had no anesthetic or anything. Strange, but they were the rules.

  3. laurie on

    they have a lot of rules, i guess to protect the health of the giver and the recipient.

    one rule is you have to weigh at least 98 pounds. i am in no danger of not making that…..


Leave a Reply

