Falling Slowly

I’ve been feeling very tired of late. I’ve had a lot of things on, and I’m trying to do too much for others. I need more rest. This weekend we have a houseful again, so no rest for the wicked. Maybe next week. The farm work is slowing down for now, but the social side of things is going crazy. So for now I’m just going to post this song form the Swell Season called Falling Slowly. Hmmmm, “we’ve still got time”. We have lots and lots of time.

Falling Slowly

I don’t know you
But I want you
All the more for that
Words fall through me
And always fool me
And I can’t react
And games that never amount
To more than they’re meant
Will play themselves out

Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you have a choice
You’ve made it now

Falling slowly, eyes that know me
And I can’t go back
Moods that take me and erase me
And I’m painted black
You have suffered enough
And warred with yourself
It’s time that you won

Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you had a choice
You’ve made it now

Take this sinking boat and point it home
We’ve still got time
Raise your hopeful voice you had a choice
You’ve made it now
Falling slowly sing your melody
I’ll sing along

7 comments so far

  1. laurie on

    i feel like all i do all week long is talk to people, intensely, for 9 hours a day.

    i like being quiet on the weekends. good thing i married a norwegian.

    as far as that song goes… hmmmm… sounds like something else is going on in your life, Rough Hands….

  2. rough hands on

    ah now laurie, something else going on in my life … there’s nothing dramatic going on really. I just liked the song, well i have liked it for a long time, but i was listening to it yesterday, and i felt like posting it. I suppose it’s a metaphor really for when things are not going so well, then a little guidance and a pull in the right direction is all it takes to put one right.
    I don’t know any norwegians, only swedish … and the last thing i could say about them is that they were quiet.
    my work is not like yours at all. i meet few people from day to day, so it’s a pleasure to get out and do something in the evening … but then it all seems to happen at the same time, like this week. Like this weekend, we have cousins from australia, and some other visitors so no rest for now.

  3. nightskyspy on

    sometimes it may be demanding on you to have the open house and guests coming and going as they please. yet i think it is nice. where i live there are hardly any visitors and, if any, they must announce they are coming. it is the other extreme so. something in the middle would look like an ideal but may not be possible to reach.

  4. laurie on

    hello? hello? have you switched blogs again? or what?

  5. mike on

    Ah, laurie.
    i’ve just found that my time has become overwhelmed with pre-Christmas everything, and i just haven’t picked up my camera in a while. I know I should, but i’ve got this huge backlog of work on my plate that i need to shift before i can get back to the other things in life that i like.
    I think maybe i’m one of those people that go at things, and once the learning experience dies down, then it becomes a bit of a chore. but a chore it wasn’t and i don’t know what happened.
    ahh, i’ll see what i can do over the Christmas.

  6. laurie on

    thanks for the christmas wishes. no worries about the blog–your’e in my bloglines, so if you post again some day, i’ll know it.

    (the computer knows all, sees all.) glad to hear you’re just busy and it’s not something bad.

    happy new year!

  7. […] Posted January 6, 2008 It feels like I’ve been falling slowly for an eternity now … so it’s about time I got everything sorted and started posting […]


Leave a Reply

